Reviews

FOR CYCLISTS BY CYCLISTS

Please take a moment to read some of our reviews.

60% of our customers have ridden with us year after year, and many of the comments below will hopefully tell you why. We don’t edit or amend the comments in any way, and would be delighted to include yours when you come on a trip with us.

"Thanks for a very relaxed trip to the Maratona. Everything worked like clockwork; coach transfers on time, easy check-in at the hotel, all entry information sorted, nice guided ride on the Friday and then the Maratona on Sunday, which was excellent! We stayed at Cappella Hotel in Colfosco and would highly recommend it as quality of accommodation, service and the food was superb!! Look forward to booking another trip with you."



Roy Fox
-
Maratona 2017

"It was epic! Thank you very much for a super well organized trip. Looking forward to seeing you soon"



Mike Topper
-
Strade Bianche 2017

"It was a great weekend , I am sure i will be booking further trips in the future"



David Watts
-
Strade Bianche 2017

"Just a quick note to say I had a great time over the weekend, Peter looked after us superbly & the hotel was ideal. The event itself was very professionally organised and really enjoyable. Provence is a stunning place. Early days but if you're running a trip to the Maratona next year I'd be interested in going. Peter was telling me it's well worth doing."



Campbell Hall
-
GFNY-Monte Ventoux

"Just feedback for the trip from my point of view. Great transfer painless and comfortable. The hotel was superb and would suggest the whole team stay there if possible. Would be great to get some caps/T shirts with your logo and the name of the event even if you had to add a couple of pounds to the cost. Thanks for a great trip and hope I will be able to join you next year in another ride"



​Ratan Alexander
-
Maratona 2017

"A well organised trip, fantastic accomadation, all round a nice experience."



Neil Adams
-
Maratona 2017

"I just wanted to say thanks for organising such a great trip. I can't think of anything I didn't like. The hotel was excellent, perfect location, great food and friendly service with the added bonus of a nice pool & spa. The group of fellow riders in our hotel were all really nice people. The Maratona itself was superb, the best sportive I've done. Excellently organised and marshalled and a wobderful course with one amazing climb following another. I've already recommended you to someone wanting to do the Maratona next year."



Gideon Hyams
-
Maratona 2017

"This is my third Italian trip that I have embarked on organised by your company and each one has been fantastic.  If I thought the Stelvio trips were unbeatable then the Maratona dles Dolimites really raised the bar. The hotel was great, the event peerless and the transfers smooth.Your bike transfer paid off in dividends too, as 17 bikes were left on the tarmac at Marco Polo by EasyJet as they had overbooked the hold. I'm already saving up for my next trip, it will be Italy and it will be organised by you."



Gavin Hughes
-
Maratona 2017

"Taking advantage of Dudley’s bespoke bike trailer service, we arrived at the hotel with our bikes waiting for us and in time to squeeze in a short evening ride. The hotel was great with a lovely spa and gym (don’t forget your trunks!) and really good food, a perfect base for exploring the Dolomites and relaxing after a ride. The whole trip was well organised and hassle free, capped off by an amazing Maratona on the Sunday. All in all fantastic value for money and I wouldn’t hesitate to use European Cycle Events again as a luxurious means of gaining easy access to some of Europe’s bucket-list events."



Ed Payne
-
Maratona 2017

"In summary, I thought the trip was really well managed by you. The bike transfer (really important), the Maratona booking, the hotel, the bike storage area – all were excellent Of course, you helping me with my wreck of a bike was beyond the call of duty – thanks so much!"



Joe Dove
-
Maratona 2017
Howard Scannell

"Dudley is a friendly and knowledgeable host.  He knows the area, the roads and race.  The hotel was fabulous with great food and facilities.  Highly recommended.  I will be back for more adventures with European Cycle Events"



Howard Scannell
-
Stelvio 2018
Bulent Reshat

"The whole experience I.e transfer, hotel, location pre-ride, organisation of the event including the coach transfer to and from registration was Magnificent. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The event was fantastico and challenging which is just what o like. Shame the weather wasn't quite on our side, but you can't have it all and it could have been worse. Thank-you."



Bulent Reshat
-
Maratona 2017
Micheal Topper

"I had a fantastic time on the trip. I thought the event was super well organized and you made sure that the race number pick up process was painfree by communicating clearly what we had to bring. The bike transfer service was very convenient and both the hotel and food were very high quality. This was the second time I have done this event with you and on both occasions I had a very good time. I would certainly look to participate in the Maratona again in the future but next year it is time for the GF Stelvio"



Micheal Topper
-
Maratona 2017
Andrew Mcpherson

"It was a fantastic trip. This was my first sportive outside the UK and it really exceeded my expectations.  Everything worked perfectly and I thought the trip was great value. The bike drop off and transport to Corvara is a really great service, and takes the hassle out of flying with a bike - which I only fully appreciated when I saw the length of the queue to check in bike boxes at Venice airport.  The Posta Zirm hotel was great, very friendly service, great food and perfectly located for the Maratona.  I will be booking another trip for 2018."



Andrew Mcpherson
-
Maratona 2017
Asa Winder

"I really enjoyed the whole trip. The organisation was great, the hotel was perfect, the food was good, it was a nice crowd of people, the ride was spectacular and Dudley was on hand to provide all the local knowledge and tips. Would very happily recommend the whole trip"



Asa Winder
-
Stelvio 2018
Nicola Braybrook
"I absolutely loved the trip and wouldn’t change a thing (except perhaps my bike! And my ability! )  “My first trip with European Cycle Events and I have to say it wont be my last! Plenty of information, plenty of support, lots of fabulous cycling and amazing fun!  A great group of people taking part in a great Gran Fondo .   Some fantastic climbs and fantastic views.  The Hotel was good and the company great.   I shall be going again next year for sure!"

Nicola Braybrook
-
Stelvio 2018
Simon Bell
"Fantastic event, thoroughly recommended. Extremely well organised by Dudley. Will definitely come again"

Simon Bell
-
Stelvio 2018
Bulent Reshat

"I thoroughly enjoyable Stelvio Sabtini trip with a superbly located hotel. Bike accommodation, food and the event on the day was marvellous and fortunately the weather was on our side. This is my second gran Fondo Stelvio Santini and I highly recommend it."



Bulent Reshat
-
Stelvio 2018
Steve Mansfield

"Whilst I sit at gate E26 at Milan airport I have time to reflect on my trip to Bormio to ride the Stelvio. I have dreamt of riding the Stelvio for nearly 40 years when I first knew of it watching the Giro as a young racing cyclist and now having ridden it, it surpassed all expectations I had. The area is just totally jaw dropingly amazing. The Stelvio is just amazing to ride, if not hard, but us cyclists love a challenge and a challenge it is. Dudley, what a great geezer he is!! You can either go out on the organised rides on the lead up to the Gran Fondo or do your own thing. Anything goes. Very relaxed and very enjoyable and I thank Dudley for giving me that opportunity to ride this mountain. 5 stars for organisation and execution of the trip."



Steve Mansfield
-
Stelvio 2018